Hades is the first videogame to win a Hugo award

hades video game

Last Updated on 4 January, 2022

The Hugo Awards are a series of awards given since 1953 to the best works of science fiction. Over the years, the organizers have expanded and eliminated categories. And this 2021, a Hugo award has also been given to the best video game of the year. Hades, a roguelike released in 2020, was the first video game to win one of these awards.

Hades, which has received numerous accolades since its release, will go down in history for being the first video game to win this award. The curious thing is that it could also be the last. The organizers of the event designed this special category “only for the year 2021”.

This category, therefore, is not permanent, and may not be continued next year. Fortunately, the Committee is considering the option of broadening the scope and creating a category for Best Game (overall) or Best Interactive Experience. These categories, if created, would be used starting next year and would be permanent.

By video game, the event organizers meant any game (or substantial modification thereof) released for the first time to the public in the previous calendar year on any major platform and related to science fiction and fantasy. The nominees were Animal Crossing: New Horizons, Spiritfarer, Final Fantasy VII Remake, The Last of Us: Part II and Blaseball, in addition to Hades itself.

Greg Kasavin, creative director and one of the screenwriters of Hades, has wished through his Twitter account that these awards continue to keep the video game world in mind: “We hope the Hugo Awards continue to recognize the work being done in this space”.

Previously, Hades had been named Best Game at the BAFTAs, the D.I.C.E. and the Game Developers Choice Awards. It was also nominated for Game of the Year at last year’s The Game Awards, where it won Best Independent Game and Best Action Game.

This approach by the Hugo Awards to the world of video games is not the first. In 2006 a category called Best Interactive Video Game was offered, although it was withdrawn from the final voting due to lack of interest. For context, comics began to be awarded in 2009 and only from 2012 podcasts and videos were taken into account.

The game is available for both PC and PS5, PS4, Xbox One, Xbox Series S and X and Nintendo Switch and is priced at €20.99. It is included in Xbox Game Pass and PC Game Pass.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.